Sunday, December 2, 2012

Symbols in Jainism

Apart from the major symbols in Jainism, we also have these lesser known Symbols each signifying different meaning and have their own importance.

Shri Vatsa 

Shri Vatsa an auspicious symbol on the upper chest of all 24 Tirthankaras showing compassionate universal eternal love for all living beings however minute they may be.


Nandavarta a sacred complex form of swastika which is a visual icon for higher meditative attainment, a beautiful configuration formed by nine angles or corners of divinity.


Varshamanaka an earthen bowl sealed with another earthen bowl and used as a lamp. This pair in Sanskrit is known as samput. The lit lamp is symbolic of light banishing darkness.


Bhadrasana a holy seat, the royal throne. Also regarded as the sacred seat for the liberated souls, this is a seat of honor for evolved souls.


Kalasha the holy pitcher with two divine eyes as well as two ends of a scarf drawn on either sides. This plays a prominent role in every auspicious ceremony.
Two eyes are depicted around the Kalasha, symbolising right faith and right knowledge i.e. balance between the Faith and Knowledge.

Meen Yugala

Meen Yugula the fish couple. The form of the fish is considered divine, as it also shows the flow of divine life in the cosmic ocean.

The two fishes originally represented the two main sacred rivers of India - the Ganges and Yamuna. These rivers are associated with the lunar and solar channels, which originate in the nostrils and carry the alternating rhythms of breath or prana. They have religious significance in Hindu, Jain and Buddhist traditions but also in Christianity. In Buddhism, the fish symbolize happiness as they have complete freedom of movement in the water. They represent fertility and abundance. Often drawn in the form of carp, which are regarded in the Orient as sacred on account of their elegant beauty, size, and life-span.


Darpana symbolises true self. True self is our own soul.

Credits for Images -